WHAT HAVE YOU CHOSEN TO BUILD YOUR FAITH ON?

The way I see it, life always comes down to decisions. Decisions are the building blocks that we use to erect the towers of our hopes, dreams, and beliefs. So the question is, what kind of foundation are you standing on?

James 1: 6-8 talks about making a decision to have faith and not doubt the goodness of God when praying for your needs. You must stand on His Word that tells us of the finished work of Christ on the Cross.

 

Building Under Construction!

Imagine, if you will, a house under construction. As the bricks are being laid on top of each other, there has to be some kind of mortar to hold the bricks in place. If the builder decides to use a mortar mix that is not of the right quality, it won’t be strong enough to hold the bricks together. If some strong force is exerted on one wall, the entire structure can easily tumble down.

The point here is simple and clear. I can either decide to build my life on the Grace and Mercy of God, or I can choose to add Law into the mix.

I can choose to put all my trust in the fact that I am a sinner but through Christ and the blood He shed for me, my sins (including future ones) are forgiven and God sees me as righteous in Christ.

I can choose to approach God as my Heavenly Father, knowing that He will welcome me with open arms despite how dirty, insignificant, or wretched I feel.

I can choose to believe that He answers my prayers not because I did something special, but because I made a conscious decision to accept and receive His Love.

 

Mixing Your Own Mortar of Faith

On the other hand, I can also decide to follow the Law, or maybe mix His Grace with some Law to create a mixture faith. This can then be the mortar mix I use to hold the bricks of my life together.

I can choose to work and sweat my way toward salvation and redemption. I can decide to prove to God that I can make myself righteous; that if He answers my prayers, it would be because I did the right things.

I have built my brick house with Law long enough, wallowing in the deceitfulness of self-righteousness yet weighed down by the burden of condemnation. It’s always been about “What can I do to make God happy so that He can love me and not reject my prayers?”

Self-flagellation may seem like a path that leads to God if that is what you believe He wants! The Law is not only painful but IMPOSSIBLE to keep as well! I can no longer go down this road.

So What Now?

The only other option is to accept God’s Grace and Mercy completely without fear. I’m ashamed to say that I have struggled with this many times. To accept that He loves me no matter what is a strange concept that goes against everything I’ve been told or experienced.

Why would God bother with a wretch like me? What did I ever do to deserve this amazing Love people keep singing about? How can I experience it too? Having endured the pain of the Law, I have finally decided to seek the answers to these questions for myself.

You see, life can be an extremely long journey, but it only starts when you make that one decision!

Choose to believe!

Build your life anew using the Grace of our Lord Jesus Christ!

Shalom.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Do you want to have a personal relationship with Christ? Then you must believe that Jesus died on the cross for your sins. Repent of your sins and ask Him to come into your heart. Only Christ can reconcile you to your heavenly Father. Say this prayer:

Lord Jesus, I accept that you are the Son of God and you died on the cross for my sins. I repent of all my sins and I ask for your forgiveness. Right now I make you my Lord and Savior. Come into my heart. Fill me with your Holy Spirit. Thank you, Lord, for shedding your blood for me at the cross. Amen.

You have now become a child of God. Take the time to read your bible and find a church that teaches the word of God. Let the Holy Spirit work within you to help you become the person God created you to be. God bless you!

Leave a Reply

